Skate-Canada Manitoba Grassroots Bursary Trust
$4,775 raised
96% of $5k goal
49 contributors
5 Years running


Support competitive figure skaters in Manitoba through the Skate-Canada Manitoba Grassroots Bursary Trust. Our goal is to sustain and grow bursaries awarded to our skaters to assist them with expenses relating to competing. 


As figure skaters in Manitoba advance through competitive levels, the cost of keeping them on the road to success becomes challenging.  Founded by a well known Manitoba figure skating judge Reta Barber in 1983,  the Skate-Canada Manitoba Bursary Trust awards annual bursaries to competitive skaters who finish strongly during the season and show a passion and commitment to continue.

Help Manitoba figure skaters reach their full potential. 

In addition to interest earned on the fund,  trustees raise money through an annual ice show and silent auction used to payout awards to skaters.  We need your help to make it happen.


The Manitoba Grassroots Bursary Trust asks for your support to boost the value of the bursaries and offset the cost of our ice show.  If you're a former skater, and would like to give back to a sport that gave you a platform for life-long friendships, discipline, a competitive spirit and fun, step up with your contribution now. Perhaps you would like to give on behalf of a family member, or friend.  You can donate to support a specific category, or your donation can be equally shared among all skaters receiving awards.  Corporate sponsors are welcome. Please join us.   


Grassroots Bursary Trustees:  Miles Barber, Don Brown,  Lorne Edwards (Chairman),  Donna Yee, Pearl Humenny, Laura Ryback, Diane Brine, Colleen Woods, Julia Belford, Cyndi Rudd-Price.


Bursary Recipients 2018/2019:


University of Manitoba - Ice Intrepid

Senior Ladies: 

Deidre Russell  (Lisa Spadafore Award)

Junior Ladies:

Danae Russell

Casey Bertholet  (Gordon Linney Award)

Novice Men:

Yonathan Elizarov  (Henderson Award)

Novice Ladies:

Julia Patenaude

Emma King

Charlotte Little

Pre-Novice Ladies:

Annika Duguay  (Manitoba Grassroots Award) 

Breken Brezden

Cecilia Howes

Pre-Novice Pair:

Jade Pilat & Emmett Dewar


David Howes

Follow Your Dreams Award:  (Sponsored by the Barber Family)

Sadie Graetz



Manitoba has a rich skating history.  We've seen many skaters soar to great heights.  Whether you're a former skater, judge, coach, parent or skating fan, help us continue the tradition by supporting the Manitoba Grassroots Bursary Trust.  


Skate-Canada Manitoba Grassroots Bursary Trust
145 Pacific Avenue
Winnipeg, Manitoba   R3B 2Z6

Donations are also accepted through e-transfer via the following email address:


Activity highlights See all49
Subscribe to receive updates by email.

People just like you

People just like you have raised $161,000,000+ for causes they and their friends care about.

Start your own campaign
Recent contributions